“Room available” was yesterday: How hoteliers use e-mobility to increase their occupancy rate

back
25.06.2019 | Press Releases

While most hotels will be busy during the upcoming summer holidays, they often have to struggle with empty beds, especially in the low season. The Tyrolean company Greenstorm is taking steps to address this through an environmentally friendly and at the same time unconventional idea. Hoteliers exchange their free rooms for new e-bikes and e-cars without having to pay for them. The concept seems to be a winning formula for everyone involved, as Greenstorm now has more than 1,100 hotel partners in six European countries

Vienna / Kufstein, 24.06.2019. 2018 was a record year in Austria from a tourism point of view. Accommodation establishments recorded almost 150 million overnight stays, an increase of 3.6 percent compared to the calendar year 2017. But not all that glitters is gold. Even in the 4-star and 5-star establishments, for which there is a high demand, the beds were only just over 50 percent occupied in the 2018 summer season. On average, even this figure was out of reach for 3-star establishmentss and private quarters. “Low occupancy rates are a problem for hoteliers, especially in the off-season, as empty rooms are always the most expensive option for the host. This is precisely where our ‘e-mobility in exchange for empty beds’ model comes in,” states Philipp Zimmermann, who himself comes from the hospitality industry and, together with Richard Hirschhuber, has been managing partner of the Tyrolean e-mobility service provider Greenstorm since 2016.

New e-vehicles, new guests .

In concrete terms, Greenstorm equips hotels with new e-bikes from top manufacturers, e-cars such as Tesla and e-charging stations, and in return receives vouchers for vacant hotel rooms. The company sells these vouchers on selected online platforms and makes them available to renowned companies such as Daimler and Swarovski for their loyalty programmes. In this way, the Greenstorm model enables the hotelier to address in particular those target groups who would not otherwise book with him. At the same time, the hotelier benefits from the advertising effect, which does not entail any costs. “The hotelier always retains sovereignty over the travel period. He alone determines for which dates he makes the vouchers available. Thus he gets new guests, who will eat and/or drink in his establishment and may become regular guests”. Zimmermann thus describes one of the substantial advantages of the exchange business for Hoteliers.

With the e-mobility provided by Greenstorm, hotels can enrich the in-house offer for their guests without incurring any costs for the hosts. While e-bikes always remain in the hotels for one season and are replaced by new ones should the cooperation with Greenstorm be extended, the new e-cars are lent to hotels for three years. E-filling stations are also made available to the hotels via the exchange model. Greenstorm itself will pay for the electricity costs incurred, and also for any repair costs for e-bikes.

Over 1,100 hotels rely on proven concept

The fact that Greenstorm has obviously hit a nerve with its environmentally friendly approach to higher capacity utilisation is shown by the steadily increasing number of cooperation partners in the hotel industry. The company currently has more than 1,100 hotel partners in six European countries – in addition to Austria and Germany, Greenstorm is also active in Italy, Switzerland, Slovenia and Croatia with its exchange concept. “It is particularly pleasing for us that about half of all new customers choose us on the basis of recommendations from other hoteliers. This shows that our concept is spot on and leads to a win-win situation for everyone involved,” emphasises Zimmermann. Greenstorm wants to continue to massively expand both the number of partner companies and its electric vehicle fleet.

 

- Different articles
25.06.2019 | Press Releases

“Room available” was yesterday: How hoteliers use e-mobility to increase their occupancy rate

While most hotels will be busy during the upcoming summer holidays, they often have to struggle with empty beds,…

24.06.2019 | The World of Greenstorm

Fantic Fat Bike Sport GS 888 – a real “fat bottomed bike“

Hi there e-bike community! I was able lay it on really thick last week! It was Fat Bike time…

10.06.2019 | The World of Greenstorm

KTM Macina Ride 291-oranger ‘Eye-Catcher’

Hi there e-bike community!  Today I had the opportunity to test an e-bike from the 2019 Greenstorm range. The KTM…

06.06.2019 | The World of Greenstorm

digital.tirol – Visiting our Greenbank in Kufstein

Although we are very “retro-analogue” with our exchange business – e-bikes against empty hotel…

NEWSLETTER

Would you like to be updated regularly with the latest news from our world?

error

Gefällt Ihnen unser Blog? Bitte teilen :)

„Zimmer frei“ war gestern: Wie Hoteliers mit E-Mobilität ihre Auslastung steigern

zurück
25.06.2019 | Pressemeldungen

Während in den bevorstehenden Sommerferien in den meisten Hotels Hochbetrieb herrschen wird, haben Gastgeber speziell in der Nebensaison mit leeren Betten zu kämpfen. Dagegen geht das Tiroler Unternehmen Greenstorm mit einer umweltfreundlichen und zugleich unkonventionellen Idee vor. Hoteliers tauschen ihre freien Zimmer gegen neue E-Bikes und E-Cars ein, ohne dafür bezahlen zu müssen. Das Konzept scheint sich für alle Beteiligten zu lohnen, denn mittlerweile zählt Greenstorm mehr als 1.100 Hotelpartner in sechs europäischen Ländern. 

Wien / Kufstein, am 24.06.2019. 2018 war in Österreich aus touristischer Sicht ein Rekordjahr. Die Betriebe verzeichneten fast 150 Millionen Nächtigungen, ein Plus von 3,6 Prozent im Vergleich zum Kalenderjahr 2017. Doch es ist nicht alles Gold, was glänzt. Selbst in den grundsätzlich sehr gefragten 4- und 5-Stern-Betrieben waren die Betten in der Sommersaison 2018 nur zu knapp über 50 Prozent ausgelastet. Für 3-Stern-Häuser und Privatquartiere war im Durchschnitt selbst dieser Wert außer Reichweite. „Niedrige Auslastung wird vor allem in der touristischen Nebensaison zum Problem für Hoteliers, denn für den Gastgeber ist ein leeres Zimmer immer das teuerste. Genau hier setzt unser Tauschmodell ‚E-Mobilität gegen leere Betten’ an“, berichtet Philipp Zimmermann, der selbst aus dem Gastgewerbe kommt und seit 2016 gemeinsam mit Richard Hirschhuber geschäftsführender Gesellschafter bei dem Tiroler E-Mobility-Dienstleister Greenstorm ist.

Neue E-Fahrzeuge, neue Gäste

Konkret stattet Greenstorm Hotels mit neuen E-Bikes von Top-Herstellern, E-Cars wie Tesla sowie E-Tankstellen aus und erhält dafür im Gegenzug Gutscheine für leerstehende Hotelzimmer. Diese verkauft das Unternehmen über ausgewählte Online-Plattformen weiter und stellt sie als Firmenpartner renommierter Betriebe wie Daimler oder Swarovski für deren Loyalty-Programme bereit. Dadurch ermöglicht das Greenstorm-Modell dem Hotelier insbesondere jene Zielgruppen anzusprechen, die sonst nicht bei ihm buchen würden. Gleichzeitig profitiert er von der Werbewirkung, die mit keinen Kosten verbunden ist. „Der Hotelier behält stets die Hoheit über den Reisezeitraum. Er alleine bestimmt, für welche Termine er die Gutscheine zur Verfügung stellt. Damit bekommt er neue Gäste, die bei ihm konsumieren und aus denen womöglich Stammgäste werden“, beschreibt Zimmermann einen der wesentlichen Vorteile des Tauschgeschäfts für Hoteliers.

Mit der von Greenstorm zur Verfügung gestellten E-Mobilität bereichern Hotels das hauseigene Angebot für ihre Gäste, ohne dass den Gastgebern dafür Kosten entstehen. Während E-Bikes stets für eine Saison in den Betrieben bleiben und durch neue ersetzt werden, wenn sich die Kooperation mit Greenstorm verlängert, werden die neuen E-Cars für drei Jahre an Hotels verliehen. Auch E-Tankstellen können Hotels über das Tauschmodell beziehen. Für dabei anfallende Stromkosten, aber auch für etwaige Reparaturkosten bei E-Bikes kommt Greenstorm selbst auf.

Über 1.100 Hotels setzen auf bewährtes Konzept

Dass Greenstorm mit dem umweltfreundlichen Weg zu einer höheren Auslastung offenbar einen Nerv getroffen hat, zeigt die stetig steigende Anzahl an Kooperationspartnern in der Hotellerie. Aktuell zählt das Unternehmen mehr als 1.100 Hotelpartner in sechs europäischen Ländern – neben Österreich und Deutschland ist Greenstorm mit dem Tauschkonzept auch in Italien und der Schweiz sowie in Slowenien und Kroatien aktiv. „Besonders erfreulich für uns ist, dass sich etwa die Hälfte aller Neukunden auf Basis von Weiterempfehlungen anderer Hoteliers für uns entscheidet. Das zeigt, dass unser Konzept treffsicher ist und zu einer Win-Win-Situation für alle Beteiligten führt“, betont Zimmermann. Greenstorm will sowohl die Anzahl der Partnerbetriebe als auch seinen E-Fuhrpark weiterhin massiv ausbauen.

- Andere artikel
21.09.2019 | The World of Greenstorm

Dank E-Bike von Greenstorm gehört Parkplatzsuche der Vergangenheit an

Hi liebe E-Bike community! Seit Jahren fahre ich mit dem Bike in den Bergen herum. Die letzten Jahre, nachdem ich die…

31.08.2019 | The World of Greenstorm

Mit Greenstorm E-MTB durch das Radparadies Colli Euganei

Hi liebe E-Bike community! Seit beinahe 10 Jahren verbringe ich jährlich einen Bikeurlaub in den Colli Euganie oder…

28.08.2019 | Pressemeldungen

Elektrizität im Blut – Greenstorm launcht Europas größten E-Bike-Online-Marktplatz

Die Financial Times hat Greenstorm im Frühjahr als eines der am schnellsten wachsenden Unternehmen Europas gereiht.…

22.08.2019 | The World of Greenstorm

Das Familienerlebnis E-Bike mit Top E-Bikes von Greenstorm

Hi liebe E-Bike community! Immer wieder werde ich mit dem Thema E-Biken und Kinder konfrontiert. Nun ist es an der…

NEWSLETTER

Möchtest Du regelmäßig über Neuigkeiten aus unserer Welt informiert werden?

error

Gefällt Ihnen unser Blog? Bitte teilen :)